Being a Young Woman Today

Sometimes I forget how much the world these days actually sucks.

I am not hard to please…some nice place for home and some little adventures into the world. And when I mean adventures…I mean walking in a park or going to a swing dancing event or just walking through the neighborhood at night…maybe sitting outside to watch the sunrise.

Now to be fair I have recently moved and when I’m not being paranoid, my sister is…so the obstacles may be imagined…or not.

But I am a young and reasonable good looking woman. Therefore it is apparently unsafe for me to venture out into the world alone. Especially at night of or I haven’t alerted my sister to my current whereabouts.

the swing dance was a prime example because she had it set for me to be walked to my car but I still had to walk 2 blocks downtown by myself…Also it had to be the right 2 blocks because initially I headed in the wrong direction *sigh*

I was more excited by my adventures but my sister(who was on the phone for the walking) was definitely nervous. And to be fair at night in downtown(even a nicer part of downtown) is a little sketchy.

The other day I thought about walking around the neighborhood in the evening. But it was late and this neighborhood isn’t great…and sister was asleep so she couldn’t even be alerted.

To be fair we were raised with an over-awareness of what can happen to girls. My dad used to tell us about some girl who got raped in a public bathroom, chopped up into little pieces and put in a trashcan. I am still occasionally unnerved when walking into a public bathroom.

Its unfortunate because I like to just have adventures and explore. Apparently I might require a chaperon for many adventures and there are no likely candidates. I just moved and I haven’t really made friends. I don’t have people who I can call and say “Going dancing, let’s hit the town!”

When I used to work nights back home there were times when I would be sure to hold my sharpest key while walking to my car at 2 AM.

And again…some of it might be paranoia…but then again how many girls get kidnapped or go missing or get raped? I don’t know the actual statistics but it’s A LOT. And it makes me sad that I live in a world where I have to think like this.

I will leave you with a quote that applies to my predicament
“‘Then your pleasures have been few. Are you satisfied with them?’
‘Far from it. I imagine things I’m powerless to execute.'”
-Jane Eyre

One thought on “Being a Young Woman Today

  1. When someone writes an post he/she keeps the thought
    of a user in his/her brain that how a user
    can know it. Thus that’s why this piece of writing is perfect. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

