Love like Literature

(Sorry its been so long… have a poem)

I thought our love was like literature

Every word we spoke was poetry

I thought your eyes wrote sonnets and your lips spelled them out

The lines of your hair lay like pages and your chin was a soliloquey

The space separating you from me filled with letters and longing

Our reaching hands told gripping tales

But eventually the book was shut

Then shelved

Now I see there were no words

No rhymes, no pages

No beautiful sounds that carried so many meanings

Instead it was just you and I

With nothing between us but air

(The first line is kinda lifted from Parades End. The poem came when I wanted her to end the second line with poetry and she didn’t so a poem happened instead)

Leave a Reply

